Stopping a Translation

When you’re running a translation, the Stop tool  becomes available. Click the  tool to immediately stop the translation.

Note: Sometimes stopping a translation causes FME to create temporary files that can take up unnecessary disk space. It’s a good idea to select Tools > Purge Temporary Files (or press Alt + C) after you stop a translation.

What Happens After You Stop a Translation?

The log view will display Translation Stopped.

When you stop a translation, the output file is left incomplete and is not usable. If you run the file again, the entire translation will restart, overwriting any partial results from a previously aborted translation.